On October 30th, 2017 Arlington League of Women Voters presented a State District 49 Candidates Forum where Delegate Alfonso Lopez (D) and Candidate Adam Roosevelt (R) met with and answered questions from constituents of Virginia's 49th state district.



October 15th LWV Arlington presented a Forum and Q and A with candidates running for the County and School Boards.

County Board Candidates Audrey Clement, Eric Gutshall, Charles McCullough, and LWV member, Joan Porte.

County Board Candidates Audrey Clement, Eric Gutshall, Charles McCullough, and LWV member, Joan Porte.

Candidates for School Board Allison Dough, Monique O’Grady, Mike Webb, and LWV Arlington moderator Joan Porte

Candidates for School Board Allison Dough, Monique O’Grady, Mike Webb, and LWV Arlington moderator Joan Porte

The High School Registration Campaign for the November 2017 Election has commenced. LWV Arlington and INSPIRE VIRGINIA have teamed up again this fall to register eligible APS students to vote next month.

Wakefield HS

Washington-Lee HS

One More Page invited Arlington LWV to speak about League history, voter education and information – such as Vote 411 – and voter registration. Vice-president Joan Porte is pictured during the presentation and discussion.

IMG_0471 copy.jpg

OneVirginia2021, and Potomac River Keeper representatives joined with LWV Arlington, to present the free film, Democracy for Sale, on September 27th at the Arlington Cinema and Drafhouse. Following the film the presenters, Potomac River Keeper Dean Naujoks and Blake Wheelock of OneVirginiai2021, lead a discussion of how "the money of a few has come to dominate our democracy".  [L > R in photo: President K. Matusiak, B. Wheelock, and D. Naujoks]

The Chapter held a Membership Meeting Saturday, September 9th, at the Westover Library where the League made plans for and signed up volunteers for the up-coming high school registrations, LWV Lobby Corps, Vote411, and up-coming Candidate Forums.


In late August our League President held an Information Fair at the State Department and Arlington LWV members participated in the September Candidate Forum presented by the Arlington County Civic Federation.

Don_ACCF Candidate Forum 170905.jpg

May 20, 2017 LWV Arlington held its Annual Meeting and Breakfast at the Sheraton National Hotel.  The featured speaker was Catherine Read who is currently working on redistricting with OneVirginia2021. Her presentation about redistricting was titled: "READ. THINK. ACT! ". A business meeting followed breakfast and Ms. Read's call to action.


The Arlington League has offered Voter Registration services at several neighborhood summer activities.



 Several League members including R. Harlan and D. Gurney attended the March for Climate, Saturday, April 22nd. They joined members of other Leagues and marched behind the Builders of Democracy banner.



April 22, 2017 we held a 'Meet and Greet' luncheon for new members at Joan Porte's home. Membership Chair Anna Leonard and President Kathy Matusiak lead the discussion.


April 2nd LWV-Arlington volunteer, Nancy Tate, led a discussion with County Manager Mark Schwartz on how the changes in Washington will impact the citizens of Arlington County.

March 18, 2017, volunteer Seema Jain organized a review of the 2017 Virginia State Legislature Session. The presenters included State Senators Ebbin and Favola and Delegates Hope, Levine, Lopez, and Sullivan at George Mason Law School Auditorium.


During February and March 2017, the LWV-Arlington partnered with INSPIRE VIRGINIA students to visit government classes in Arlington Public Schools to register students to vote in the 2017 election cycle.

LWV-Arlington volunteers, Suzanne Dunn and Sharon Simkin at H-B Woodlawn Secondary Program

Volunteers, Mary-Beth Kinchen and Jesie Nowling representing INSPIRE VIRGINIA, and Kathy Matusiak, Roberta Jameson, Gail Curran, Mike Teel, and Joan McDermott from LWV-Arlington at Yorktown High School

Arlington LWV members Marj Signer and Mary Voulgaris attended the Women's Legislative Round Tables and were invited by Delegate Alfonso Lopez to view House of Delegates from the House floor.

Allison Dough, Monique O’Grady, Mike Webb, Joan Porte.jpeg